Re-organising 2.0, regenerating 2.2, physical edfutures 2.0 and facing reality 1.0 (well its 3.0 but publicly1.0)

Am going to tag this one with #edfutures but due to other strands coming in if you are unfamiliar with this blog it may involve extra post reading so sorry in advance if doesn’t make enough sense. I have been following along but not participating in edfutures really, partly because wanting to try and make sense of personal educational future that embarking on. This may be a bit waffly and if you’re new to my blog apologies now.

About 2 months ago I attempted to outline in a couple of emails to someone – possible thoughts about a future I was hoping to pursue – before telling myself, well the emails were telling myself too as such – anyway – I have since deleted them in one of spring cleaning bursts so can’t remember much of what I said which is a pain. Or maybe not, maybe starting semi-clean again will be good. But I need to be more open now and stop burdening others although I do deeply appreciate the listening and feedback. I have to move on and do something now.

I am straying more and more away from defining what it is I want to be – following reading most of Christopher Alexander book on form, have become increasingly reluctant to define anything and everything. So without trying to define anything and without telling much to people and with my current situation (i.e. work) still to be defined by powers that want to be..powerful…

So where is a good place to go in life when you have been a primary & TEFL teacher, worked in a hospital library teaching online skills, hr, eHR, elearning, egovernment, learning technology, online collaboration and some temporary contracts in between? I am not ambitious in the traditional career sense of the word – which is why I have worked in other areas since PwC.

Would my time, energies be better focused if I remained in more conventional learning / learning technology / educational roles – could I make anything better in the world that way? Dunno ?

If things aren’t right, they HAVE to change. That is not just a reflection on personal life which is important too, dissatisfaction with standard educational provision (oh so easy/sweet/refreshing to have something different that is not the same old…) Its more than any of that, if you have a healthy mind (relatively), body (relatively) and exist on this planet, its important to try and help other people who don’t have what you have – why – because for them, life sucks more ! And in case that sounds too mushy, I do occasionally kick people at and they kick me too.

Physiotherapy is an attractive route which has lots of uncertainties including just because I think I will really like it, doesn’t mean I actually will. And what value does it add to me or anyone else if I do it?  It has always made some sense due to the amount of messing around with mobile devices that I have done in the past – but didn’t go anywhere with it and no intention of doing so now. And with the above experience, in effect I would be sailing, walking, riding into the unknown – do I need formal education and/or training (assuming they are different entities) in order to do it? And is physiotherapy the right ‘outcome’ for me – I’m not 100% sure – very happy to leave that open.

I thought about this in depth last summer and at the time tried to figure out what would be a good way of moving towards this route – part of the reason for taking a contract job was the start of it. Then doing cck09 was a revelation – even though I went OTT and ran around like excited dog off the lead for first few weeks, then collapsed then just ran around a few other areas before collapsing again – there was a lot of challenges, but a lot of fun and amazing connecting with some completely lovely people.

When thinking more seriously about it along the way – I was particularly interested in what Stephen and others were saying about modelling (think it was somewhere in the forums but can’t remember where or which week) and started to think – maybe I don’t need to go down the university route (e.g. for physiotherapy its a 4 yr MSc). But would I ever be taken seriously if I didn’t – as per regenerating 1, 2.

Then there is the other bit of connectivism relating to learning which is where for me personally – the physio bit fits in – when I first read “We are being remade by our connectivity” (1) a few years ago, then reading also from George Siemens on elearnspace about neuroplasticity and tools, sometimes things just leap out at you – I want to understand what being remade means in terms of a human body moving , not just brain, but the connectivity – with everything that I understand about technological networks of any kind – its like a hope at possibility of this being true !

I attended a webinar last week on clinical trials – it is approx 20% success rate across most disease areas and 5-10% for Parkinsons. Is there a role for a learning theory and practice which uses technological networks to assist in alternative therapies?

So, I would like to embark on two quests at the same time – to learn about physical learning and therapy in a connective, non-traditional educational way and to test out my own understanding of what is connectivism at the same time. I would like to try out this route roughly as follows

  • what would be peer assessment – how to demonstrate competence and build trust (have chatted with a friend who has a lot of health and education experience about youtube peer-reviews of therapeutic practices – subject to patient consent of course). Have seen some posts on edfutures that have bookmarked to read around open peer assessment too.
  • mentors – finding suitable mentors for this route – not just health professionals – people who have changed careers, made potentially high-risk life decisions, people who can provide useful comments on validity and quality of this kind of learning approach.
  • apprentice – try and find places and nice people who could be persuaded to let me observe then maybe work with them

One of the weakest areas was anatomy and physiology for me, so sweated a fair amount about doing this 11 week course that currently on – but it is also a great chance to evaluate how I learn and how I might learn. E.g. the difference between reading a book about physical education futures and reading different perspectives and interactions from multiple participants with views on education futures online.

personal learning environment 1.5Have never created a PLE before yesterday – still haven’t quite yet, but have slightly revised some of the wording since posting yesterday.  This feels like a major step forward – making sense of a disoriented environment full of lots of other people saying lots of different things and mountain upon mountain of information and ideas. Actually one of the things which stuck out after looking at today is the lack of people in it. As previously mentioned, I will probably not have any contact with other students on the a&p course so how will I connect and keep my environment alive.

If I carry on communicating in the ways I have been doing lately with way too much email for example, this doesn’t change anything so probably won’t learn anything any better. Need to try and keep an open mind and question everything because this matters so much. This blog post is a first step in clarifying thoughts about being more open. Now I need to go off and find some new people to connect with :)


1. Siemens G (2006) Cycle of Change, Knowing Knowledge, available at: http://ltc.umanitoba.ca/wikis/KnowingKnowledge/index.php/Cycle_of_Change

About

http://learn4kicks.wordpress.com, http://www/teazlewood.org.uk, http://mv2k.wordpress.com and several others

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in edfutures, physicaltherapy, random learning

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 904 other followers

Categories
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 904 other followers

