Understanding yourself and your environment better

I saw a post from Ikigai today “I understand (but not really)” that kind of unlocked something for me, where he talks about karate and his understanding of Japanese language and how someone might understand something

“This brings me to an interesting concept that I encountered on the blog of Charles Goodin Sensei (An extremely reputable martial arts historian and writer). In it he asked his karate friend and senior Pat Nakata about saying “I understand” in Japanese.Goodin Sensei was under the impression that there was one way to convey the concept of understanding, and that was with “wakarimasu”. Nakata Sensei informed him (and us) that there are actually two main methods instead of one.

The term “shirimasu” indicates a level of understanding that is shallow, or surface level. For example, if someone explains a series of directions to you and asks you if you understand, you might say “shirimasu”, because you do understand what they have said, but have done nothing in particular to internalize that information. Goodin Sensei’s “wakarimasu” also conveys understanding, but on a deeper level. If someone gave you directions and you spent years following those directions, exploring every facet of them, you might be able to say “wakarimasu”.”

This seemed to explain where I think I am at with learning about connectivism and martial arts. As much fun as it is to head off into the sunset without a map or satnav, I’m tired of meandering for now (must be age kicking in!) and I didn’t feel that my initial ‘map’ was sufficient. I wanted to create cck09+ concept map – because it is a theory (and practice now?) of learning, I am trying to put together a map to help navigate my whole learning journey for the next few years of my life. It includes self-development through learning, living, breathing martial arts as well as other areas of development which I am currently researching informally. The martial arts learning is taking me into looking at history of Eastern thinking, which then takes me further into trying to understand conflict.

I have found the exploration of self-learning as a single human and networked learning as many humans fascinating whilst taking part in cck09. I am finding challenging the concept of the learning that I complete in a dojo – some might call it 19th century but it is thousands of years of learning that way – so understanding how networked learning fits into what might be called a traditional teaching structure is great to explore (will do on here at some point).

ConnectivismcmapThis is just some early scribbling and it doesn’t actually make sense but decide to post as part of demonstrating thought processing. Nowhere near getting to learning itself, just kind of loosely stuck on bottom at the moment.

This video helped. I am completely unfamiliar with Chinese health and found this explanation of the history of Nei Jing really useful for looking at alternative ways of describing self-development, the relationships between a human & their environment:

About

http://learn4kicks.wordpress.com, http://www/teazlewood.org.uk, http://mv2k.wordpress.com and several others

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in martial, random learning

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 859 other followers

Categories
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 859 other followers

